Victoria Derby Winners

As the country’s oldest classic race and the richest event for three-year-olds, the Victoria Derby winners list reads like the who’s who of Australian racing greats.

Many of the country’s most famous and accomplished racehorses have won the Victoria Derby as three-year-olds and progressed onto record great track achievements such as winning the race that ‘stops the nation’, the Melbourne Cup.

2017 Victoria Derby Results

  • 1st: Ace High
  • 2nd: Sully
  • 3rd: Astoria

The greatest Victoria Derby winner, as voted for by a panel of VRC experts for the race’s 150th anniversary in 2004, was the legendary Phar Lap who won the Derby in 1929.

Other turf greats to win the Victoria Derby include Poseidon (1906), Comic Court (1948), Tulloch (1957), Tobin Bronze (1965) and Dulcify (1978).

More recently the Victoria Derby has been won by Monaco Consul (2009), Rebel Raider (2008), Kibbutz (2007) and Efficient (2006).

2017 Victoria Derby Winner & Full Results

The 2017 Victoria Derby winners will be posted here as soon as the race is run.

Below is a list of the recent Victoria Derby winners and results.

Victoria Derby Winners & Results

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
2017 Ace High Sully Astoria 2:37.55
2016 Prized Icon Sacred Elixir Inference 2:36.16
2015 Tarzino Etymology Kia Ora Koutou 2:38.39
2014 Preferment Damien Oliver Chris Waller 2:37.81
2013 Polanski Hugh Bowman Robbie Laing 2:38.66
2012 Fiveandahalfstar Damien Oliver Anthony Cummings 2:35.92
2011 Sangster Hugh Bowman Trent Busuttin 2:40.33
2010 Lion Tamer Hugh Bowman Murray & Bjorn Baker 2:46.43
2009 Monaco Consul Corey Brown Michael Moroney 2:41.68
2008 Rebel Raider Clare Lindop Leon Macdonald 2:36.90
2007 Kibbutz Craig Williams David Hayes 2:40.92
2006 Efficient Michael Rodd Graeme Rogerson 2:38.35
2005 Benicio Noel Callow Lee Freedman 2:37.08
2004 Plastered Paul Harvey Lindsay Smith 2:35.49
2003 Elvstroem Damien Oliver Tony Vasil 2:38.99
2002 Helenus Steven King Leon Corstens 2:40.54
2001 Amalfi Damien Oliver Peter Moody 2:34.63
2000 Hit The Roof Glen Boss David Hall 2:39.02
1999 Blackfriars Greg Childs Peter Hayes 2:36.30
1998 Arena Larry Cassidy John Hawkes 2:35.16
1997 Second Coming Greg Childs Michael Moroney 2:36.37
1996 Portland Player Greg Hall Lee Freedman 2:35.20
1995 Nothin’ Leica Dane Shane Dye Gai Waterhouse 2:36.50