Victoria Derby Records

The Victoria Derby is the oldest classic race in Australia and since it was first run in 1855 at Melbourne’s esteemed Flemington racecourse, an impressive and interesting list of records has been written into the history books.

Understanding and appreciating the records and the Victoria Derby History is one of the best ways to ensure this Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival you are placing smart and informed bets with a great chance of winning.

Below is a list of Victoria Derby records that highlight the great feats accomplished by the Victoria Derby Winners including the horses, trainers and jockeys.

Looking at the records can give you a heads up with your next Victoria Derby bet, for example only one horse has ever won more than one Victoria Derby so betting on a past winner is best avoided.

The other way to give you an advantage over other punters when betting on the Derby is to lock in better odds and receive bigger winning payouts by betting at a great online bookmaker such as

Victoria Derby Time Record (2500m): 2:33.60 set by Star Of The Realm (1991)

Most Victoria Derby Wins by a Horse: 2 – Fireworks (1867, 1868)

Most Victoria Derby Wins by a Jockey: 8 – Bobbie Lewis with Maltster (1900), Hautvilliers (1901), Sylvanite (1904), Alawa (1908), Wolawa (1912), Carlita (1914), Furious (1921) and Trivalve (1927)

Most Victoria Derby Wins by a Trainer: 8 – James Scobie with Maltster (1900), Hautvilliers (1901), F.J.A. (1903), Sylvanite (1904), Alawa (1908), Wolawa (1912), Trivalve (1927) and Hua (1937)

Horses to Win the Victoria Derby on Debut: Martini Henry (1883), Fire Oak (1990), Redding (1992)

First Female Jockey to Win the Victoria Derby: Clare Lindop with Rebel Raider (2008)

First Female Trainer to Win the Victoria Derby: Gai Waterhouse with Nothin’ Leica Dane (1995)