2010 Victoria Derby Preview & Race Programme

July 28th, 2010

Held on the opening day of the famous four-day Flemington Melbourne Cup Carnival, the 2010 Victoria Derby is the leading race for three-year-olds during the Australian spring racing season.

The headline event of Victoria Derby Day, which is held the Saturday before the coveted Melbourne Cup, the Group 1 Victoria Derby (2500m) is worth over $1.5 million in prizemoney and trophies this year.

Already a number of exciting three-year-old gallopers are preparing for a run in the 2010 Victoria Derby including the Graeme Rogerson-trained Shootoff.

Click here to read about Shootoff’s Victorian Derby campaign.

The 2010 Victoria Derby Day will take place on Saturday October 30 at Flemington and is Australia’s sole race meeting where every event on the card holds Group status.

Eight other top class Group races accompany the Victoria Derby at the meeting, including the $750,000 Group 1 Mackinnon Stakes (2000m), the $500,000 Group 1 Coolmore Stud Stakes (1200m) and the $500,000 Group 1 Myer Classic (1600m).

SportsBet will have competitive betting markets open on all of these feature spring races so make sure you keep an eye on the odds!

The 2010 AAMI Victoria Derby is programmed as the third race on the day – see below for a full Derby Day programme.

Nominations for the 2010 AAMI Victoria Derby close on Tuesday September 21.

Following the nominations we will be the first to publish the list of Victoria Derby runners making up the final field of acceptances at the end of October, so bookmark this page and check out our detailed Victoria Derby form before you have a bet.

Kicking off the Melbourne Cup Carnival, the 2010 Victoria Derby is a great race to have a punt on, but not at the TAB!

If you want better odds, more opportunities to win and richer payouts during on the Spring Carnival Racing then take five minutes today to sign up at SportsBet.

2010 Victoria Derby Day Programme

Race #



Race Name


1 $500,000 Group 1 Coolmore Stud Stakes 1200m
2 $250,000 Group 3 Inglis Carbine Club Stakes 1600m
3 $1,500,000 Group 1 AAMI Victoria Derby 2500m
4 $300,000 Group 2 Longines Wakeful Stakes 2000m
5 $750,000 Group 1 Mackinnon Stakes 2000m
6 $300,000 Group 2 Seppelt Salinger Stakes 1200m
7 $250,000 Group 3 Chathan Stakes 1400m
8 $250,000 Group 3 The Lexus Stakes 2500m
9 $500,000 Group 1 Myer Classic 1600m