Victoria Derby News

Trainer Shea Eden is confident that rising three-year-old Stately Boy has progress into a serious 2016 Victoria Derby prospect through the forthcoming Spring Racing Carnival.

Trainer Shea Eden is hoping to set Stately Boy on a 2016 Victoria Derby campaign. Photo: Daniel Costello

Stately Boy has only made one competitive appearance at the races so far, but more than …

Victoria Derby

The 2016 Victoria Derby is one of Australia’s most prestigious races held during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Worth $1.5 million dollars in prize money, the day attracts a crowd of over 100,000 people eager to see the country’s best three year old horses race. Online betting sites attract hundreds of thousands of dollars from punters eager to bet on the Victoria Derby, and the winning bets attract thousands of dollars eager to jump into the pockets of successful bettors! Sites like often nervously await the results of the Victoria Derby, hoping the winning players don’t ruin them.

Victoria Derby Special Offer:
Get up to $500 in Bonus Bets* from

The 2016 Victoria Derby will run on Saturday, October 29th, 2016.

As Australia’s oldest race, the Victoria Derby has been conducted for over 150 years and is the feature race of AAMI Victoria Derby Day, which kick-starts the Melbourne Cup Carnival. Held at Flemington racecourse, the event is a Group 1 race over a 2500 metre distance. Contenders of this horse racing event will often be seen in the Melbourne Cup form the following year. And keep in mind, that the 2016 Melbourne Cup is only a few months off now.

Victoria Derby Betting

Betting on the Victoria Derby is a fantastic way to increase the excitement whether you are at the races or watching on television. Beginner punters normally sign up through online sites like and then proceed to bet on whether a horse will win the race however you can also bet on whether a horse will place or you can choose to select the top two or three place getters in any order with a Quinella bet.

If you want to get the best odds for betting on the Victoria Derby, then forget visiting a betting agency or TAB. Online betting sites such as or are far more likely to offer the best odds available, and they also tend to hold promotions around spring carnival time that can help your betting dollar go further such as a Bonus Bet.

Upcoming Races

Group 1

Manikato Stakes


Moonee Valley


Open WFA

Group 1

Melbourne Cup 2016





Group 1

Crown Oaks





Group 1

Mackinnon Stakes





Group 1

Emirates Stakes





Victoria Derby Day

Victoria Derby Day is the only race meeting in Australia where all nine races hold group status.

Three other elite Group 1 races also highlight the Victoria Derby Day card: the $1 million Mackinnon Stakes (2000m), the $500,000 Coolmore Stud Stakes (1200m) and the $500,000 Myer Classic (1600m), providing a plethora of great betting opportunities!

Derby Day has become one of the best displays of racing fashion with the Men’s Fashions on the Field held on the day. With plenty of men around its little wonder why the day also attracts plenty of single women eager to check out all the standout stallions! The flower of the day is a blue cornflower and you will see plenty of men wearing the traditional flora as a lapel.

Victoria Derby Prizemoney

The event offers the first place getter $900,000 in prize money plus trophies valued at $8,000, $1,000 and $1,000 to the owner, trainer and rider.

Second place receives $270,000, third $135,000, fourth $67,500, fifth $37,500 and sixth to eighth place receive $30,000 each. While this is serious prize money for the horse owners, there are even more winnings for the many punters who bet on the Victoria Derby at

The event is a set weight race with colts and geldings carrying 55.5 kg and fillies carry 53.5 kg. For those interested in placing a bet on the race, many professional punters use the Cox Plate the weekend prior as a lead up race.

Victoria Derby History

Debuting in 1854 with only one entrant, the Victoria Derby had a rough start however it soon took off with the race gaining widespread popularity.

The first winner of the race was filly Rose of May in 1855 however the race was to become a male dominated event with only a few fillies winning over the years. The last female winner was Frances Tressady in 1923.

Phar Lap won the event in 1929 and was determined as the greatest derby winner of all time. Fireworks won the event twice while other notable Victorian Derby winners include Poseidon in 1906, Tulloch in 1957 and Efficient in 2006. Although it was originally run at the traditional Derby length of 2400 metres, it was changed in 1973 to its current 2500 metres.

Betting on the Victoria Derby┬áhas been popular throughout the history of the race, which is surprising considering people used to have to go to an effort to place a bet. Nowadays, it’s easy to simply place a bet at an online betting site like and then watch the race from the comfort of your own home if you can’t make it to the track and look up more racing information on